h1

Wicked Pimpin’ Purple Blurb

March 29, 2010

I think there are things I want to talk about in regards to PAX East, but I think I want to talk about them from my real computer after I’ve slept a lot and finished homework and hugged my boyfriend and our Maromi pillow and possibly paid a big fat Swedish man to step on all my muscles.  (Do Swedish people get fat?  Well, I guess the Swedish Chef did, but then again he’s a Muppet.)

If you’re in Boston, though, you should go to Nick Montfort’s Purple Blurb thing at MIT tonight.  (5:30 PM, I believe, in 14E-310.)  Jeremy Freese will be reading from Violet and Emily Short will be reading from Alabaster and it will be awesome.  Shit, I gotta go put pants on.

4 comments

  1. So exactly what does it mean to read from a work of IF?

    If the answer isn’t “Reading the output while people in the audience shout commands,” I’m going to cry, unless perhaps it involves pony unicorn jetpacks or at least kitties. So keep that in mind as you type.


    • Kevin Jackson-Mead and I typed in commands for Emily and Jeremy, respectively, who read the output, which was also on a big giant screen. I’d been wondering if people were going to shout commands, but the whole thing was far too literary and intellectual for that, I guess. (IF people have this whole dignity thing going, which makes it hard to start a good fratboy kegger chant in a room full of them.)

      Then there was Q&A time and we all sat in chairs and I misunderstood the impetus behind somebody’s question and said something sort of dumb and then later I was totally going to redeem myself by saying something smart and Emily Short totally said it before I could. S’okay, though, worse things have happened and it’s not like I killed a puppy. That I know of. Maybe every time you say something dumb during a Q&A session God kills a puppy.

      So, yeah, rather more sedate. I could make something up about jetpacks though.


      • Maybe every time you say something dumb during a Q&A session God kills a puppy.

        I am, like, the worst person ever.


  2. I am, like, the worst person ever.

    Well, it’s not like they’re kittens.



Leave a Reply

