h1

CGDC #7 – Thaidaree’s The Blueprint!

February 21, 2010

Eight games left to play, one day in which to play them.  I suck at time management.  Here we go!  Chop chop!

            ___
        .-v'---`\.
       /:/__ : __\'.
      |:/<O_>|<O>|:|         TEChNIciANs 0f SpaceShip Earth ...
      |:|\_..J...|:|           ... aNDriods aRe we ...
     _|:|\ t----j|:|_             ...'ll bAre You n0 soN ...
    /:`.| \ \__/ |.':\                ... arE In coNTrol ...
   |:   |  |---: |   :|              _   ... oF y0ur futURe deStiny
    \:  |.-::.:|-:._:/           /|.' '.  ... Circu1ts are fAiliNg
    / .-'  :'x71':  `\           ||_   |  ... adjusT me  adjuzzt me
    \/\...---.   :---.\          |   .`  ... adjust me .. AdjUst Me
    /.'`/ .'  ':'  '. \\       .'\ .'  ... adjuztme .. adJustmE ...
   | : |..:...:|:....:.|\    .'   '                      (hawkwind)
   | : |\ :   /|\   : /'.\_.'   .`
   | : | \---':| `---'\'./||  .'
   | : | |;:  :|   :|  \/::|.'
   }==={ |;:  :|   :|   `--'
   }==={/`'._  \    _\
   | : |`'-._`-:|.-'.-\
   | : |"":"""""|""":""|
   | : |  :    :|    : |
   | : |  :    :|    : |
    \: |..:  . /    :..|
    /  <      :|-   :  /
   |...|      :|-   : /
    \_/.      :|-   :|
       |      :|-   :|
cjr    \      :|-   :/
24nov99 |      |-   |

Huh, emoticons ruin ASCII art.  Screw it, I’m leaving them in!  You will learn to love them!

[spoilers begin here]

Huh, this is interesting.  I seem to live on the planet of the fascist lizard people, who don’t done want me researching no electricity.  Probably lizard people, due to their watery nature, are weak to electricity.  Wait, no, lizards are kind of dry.  I think I’m thinking of frogs.

You believe you can notice a rectangular strip of very weak light above.
>x light
It is pitch dark, and you can’t see a thing.
Not to be horribly pedantic, but I think light by definition is something you can see even in a dark room, assuming it’s possible to have a dark room with light in it.

Not having much success trying to feel my way around.  Suspect I’ll need to find a light source.

Cheating.  Oh, TOUCH LIGHT?  I would probably have been more inclined to try that if X LIGHT had yielded any sort of response.

Is the combined thickness of every piece of clothing I used to be wearing not enough to protect my hand from the heat of this crowbar?  That’s how I get hot soup out of the microwave.

Oh, sure, my shirt doesn’t work, but this rag does.  Maybe on lizard-people planet all our clothes are made of tissue paper.

I feel as though my character would be able to do something sciency here.  Actually, I feel as though my character is supposed to do something sciency here, and, being whatever the opposite of a scientist is myself, I have no idea what the hell that is.  Bridging the gap between player knowledge and character knowledge is a common problem that has been semi-solved in many interesting ways, but here I think a couple extra lines in, say, the description of the capacitor would help.  Okay, it’s been charged up in the lab, and I’m being extremely careful with it, but what does it do? Please don’t make me google “capacitor!”

Cheating again.  Oh, I’m supposed to KNOCK ON DOOR?  How would I have known to do that?

Okay, I give the figurine to the guard, then real quick touch the capacitor to it and shock him to death.  Maybe it’s just me feeling time-crunched and unwilling to futz around knocking on doors for no apparent reason, but that could have been a little better hinted.  Other than that, though, the game was solidly done, if a bit short.  I liked that it was set on fascist-lizard-people planet.

Leave a Reply

