h1

IF Comp ’08 Review – Hardy the Bulldog and Renee Choba’s Snack Time!

October 4, 2008

Despite my doubts as to Hardy the Bulldog’s actual contribution to this game, I am not yet disposed to despise it (blinking the flowing slows!), because at least it isn’t called Gossamer Albatross:   Eternal the Memories in Form of Game (Sincerity Version).  I shall play it while noshing cold Del Taco fries.  I think that is how Hardy the Bulldog would have wanted it, were he deceased and therefore open to speculation regarding things he would have wanted.

[spoilers begin here]

<RRROWWGRROWL> Your stomach growls.
I like it already.

…oh, wow, it’s all written in dog sentences!  The thing you can’t scratch, the room with the food (that is a good room), the long soft thing, etc.  This has the potential to get all gimmicky and precious, but I’m rather looking forward to being treated like a dog.  People don’t expect too much of dogs.

Arms are like legs but they end in hands and not feet.
That is so true.

…okay, I will forgive this game anything, because I have a chewy dinosaur friend.  Do you hear that, world?  I have a chewy dinosaur friend!  I’m going to go chew it!  Right now!

Damn.  I don’t know how Renee Choba feels about the homeless, but I’m’a go out on a limb here and say that she really, really, really loves Hardy the bulldog.  A lot.  A lot a lot.  I hope she’ll forgive me for being more of a cat person.

I wonder if anyone’s done a cat game yet.  CLAW EYEBALL.  ACT NONCHALANT.  PISS ON SHIT.  Oh, right, I’m supposed to be getting food!  From the game!

…I care about conserving energy?  I’m a dog.

Okay, yeah, a tad precious, but I enjoyed myself, and if you can keep from getting all cynical-panties about the puppy thing, there’s probably a decent apartment-kinda game in here.  Also chewy dinosaur friend. Some things are important.

Leave a Reply

